Back to All Events

Soyuz MS-13 launch, docking

Launching from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan in July 2019, Soyuz MS-13 is expected to bring three more people to the International Space Station: Russian cosmonaut Aleksandr Skvortsov, European Space Agency astronaut Luca Parmitano and NASA astronaut Drew Morgan.

Following their launch, the trio is expected to arrive at the space station in about six hours and dock with the aft port of the Zvezda module.

Skvortsov and Parmitano are expected to remain aboard the ISS until February 2020 while Morgan will remain aboard and return home in Soyuz MS-15 in April 2020. NASA astronaut Christina Koch, who launched to the outpost aboard Soyuz MS-12, will return home in Morgan’s seat.

Koch is giving up her seat in Soyuz MS-12 so that a United Arab Emirates astronaut, who will be launching to the outpost on Soyuz MS-15 for a short week long mission in September 2019, can return to Earth.

Editor’s note: This event has passed. More information can be found at the link below.

Earlier Event: June 24
Start of Expedition 60
Later Event: July 25
CRS-18 Dragon launch